Skip to main content

Arend Lijphart

Professor Emeritus of Political Science

Lijphart's field of specialization is comparative politics, and his current research is focused on the comparative study of democratic institutions. He is the author or editor of more than a dozen books, including Democracy in Plural Societies: A Comparative Exploration (1977), Democracies: Patterns of Majoritarian and Consensus Government in Twenty-One Countries (1984), Power-Sharing in South Africa (1985), Electoral Laws and Their Political Consequences (1986),Parliamentary versus Presidential Government (1992), Electoral Systems and Party Systems: A Study of Twenty-Seven Democracies (1994), and Patterns of Democracy: Government Forms and Performance in Thirty-Six Countries (1999; 2nd ed., 2012). Lijphart has received numerous awards throughout his prestigious career in recognition of his groundbreaking research. In 1989, he was elected to the National Academy of Arts and Sciences, from 1995-96 served as President of the American Political Science Association, and in 2010 he received the Constantine Panunzio Distinguished Emeritus Award.

Ph.D. Yale University, 1963
Comparative Politics, Democratic Institutions, Ethnicity and Politics

Curriculum Vitae