UC San Diego SearchMenu
banner

Current TA Office Hours 

Please click HERE for the current TA Office Hours and the list of the graduate students who are working as TAs in the department this quarter.

If your TA's office hours are not listed or if you would like to meet with a graduate student who is not a TA, contact the graduate student directly via email for hours or to set up an appointment.

Konstantin Ash

Ash
kash@ucsd.edu
SSB 324
Fields of study: Comparative Politics, International Relations
Website: http://polisci2.ucsd.edu/kash/

Richard Barrett

Barrett
rabarrett@ucsd.edu
SSB 446
Fields of study: Political Theory, American Politics
Focus area:  Political Theory - Ancient Political Theory, Law
Website: http://polisci2.ucsd.edu/rabarrett/

Megan Becker

no_image
mlbecker@ucsd.edu
SH104
Fields of study: International Relations, Comparative Politics

Matthew Bergman

Bergman
mebergman@ucsd.edu
SSB 331
Fields of study: Comparative Politics, International Relations
Focus area: Comparative Institutions

Kate Blackwell

Blackwell
kblackwe@ucsd.edu
SSB 345
Fields of study: Comparative Politics, American Politics

R. Allen Bolar

no_image
rbolar@ucsd.edu
Fields of study: Political Theory, Comparative Politics

Nicole Bonoff

Bonoff
nbonoff@ucsd.edu
In Absentia
Fields of study: Comparative Politics, American Politics
Focus area: Comparative Political Economy of Development, Africa

Garrett Bredell

Bredell
gbredell@ucsd.edu
SSB 446
Fields of study: Comparative Politics, International Relations

Cameron Brown

Brown
csb003@ucsd.edu
In-Abstentia
Fields of study: International Relations, Comparative Politics
Focus area: Legitimacy in International Relations

Shannon Carcelli

Carcelli
scarcell@ucsd.edu
SSB329

Fields of study: International Relations

Rumman Chowdhury

no_image
ruchowdhury@ucsd.edu
SSB 341
Fields of study: American Politics, Comparative Politics

Julia Clark

jmc003@ucsd.edu
SSB 326
Fields of Study: Comparative Polics, International Relations

Nathan Combes

Combes
ncombes@ucsd.edu
SSB 332
Fields of study: Comparative Politics, International Relations

Aaron Cotkin

no_image
acotkin@ucsd.edu
SSB 328
Fields of study: Political Theory, American Politics

Araceli (Cesi) Cruz

no_image
avcruz@ucsd.edu
In Absentia
Fields of study: International Relations, Comparative Politics

Saul Cunow

no_image
scunow@ucsd.edu
SSB 445
Fields of study: Comparative Politics, American Politics

Michael Davidson

Davidson 
    mwdavids@ucsd.edu
    SSB 347
    Field of study: Comparative Politics

Elaine Denny

Denny
ekdenny@ucsd.edu
SSB 331
Fields of study: Political Theory, International Relations

Lee Dionne

ldionne@ucsd.edu
SSB 320
Fields of Study: American Politics, Political Theory

Kathryn Dove

no_image
kdove@ucsd.edu
SSB 448
Fields of study: Comparative Politics, American Politics
Focus area: Latin America

Ivo Gatzinski

no_image
igatzinski@ucsd.edu
Fields of study: Political Theory, Comparative Politics

Micah Gell-Redman

no_image
mgellredman@ucsd.edu
SSB 443
Fields of study: Comparative Politics, American Politics

Justin Gottschalk

no_image
jgottschalk@ucsd.edu
Fields of study: Political Theory, Comparative Politics

Scott Guenther

Guenther
sguenther@ucsd.edu
SSB 331
Fields of study: Comparative Politics, American Politics

Dimitar Gueorguiev

Gueorguiev
dgueorguiev@ucsd.edu
SSB 326
Fields of study: International Relations, Comparative Politics
Focus area: China

Dotan Haim

Dotan
dhaim@ucsd.edu
SSB 350
Field of study: International Relations

Kyle Haines

no_image
kyhaines@ucsd.edu
SSB 349
Fields of study: Political Theory, Comparative Politics

Heidi Hall

h1hall@ucsd.edu
SSB 343
Fields of Study: International Relations, American Politics

Molly Hamilton

no_image
mhamilton@ucsd.edu
Sequoyah Hall 103

Fields of study: Comparative Politics, International Relations

William Hobbs

Hobbs
whobbs@ucsd.edu
In Absentia
Fields of study: American Politics, Methodology

Jeremy D. Horowitz

D. Horowitz
jdhorowitz@ucsd.edu
In-Absentia
Fields of study: American Politics, Comparative Politics
Focus area: Judicial Politics

Alex (Douglas) Hughes

no_image
         dhughes@ucsd.edu
         SSB 349
         Fields of study: American Politics, Methodology
         Website: http://polisci2.ucsd.edu/dhughes

Paula Jacobson

no_image
pjacobson@ucsd.edu
Seqouyah Hall 103
Fields of study: Comparative Politics, American Politics

Andrew Janusz

Janusz
ajanusz@ucsd.edu
SSB 332
Field of study: Comparative politics

Hye Ryoung Jung

hrj001@ucsd.edu
SSB 329

Kaleb Kalinowski

kkalinow@ucsd.edu
SSB 352
Fields of Study: American Politics, Comparative Politics

Jeffrey Kaplow

no_image
In Absentia

Fields of study: International Relations, Methodology
Focus Area: International Organizations, Nuclear Weapons, International and Civil Conflict

Matthew Kearney

no_image
mckearney@ucsd.edu
SSB 447
Fields of study: Comparative Politics, International Relations

Sara Kerosky

smkerosk@ucsd.eduSSB 322
Fields of Study: Comparative Politics, International Relations

Sarah Knoesen

Knoesen
sknoesen@ucsd.edu
In Absentia
Fields of study: Comparative Politics, American Politics
Focus area: Africa, Political Economy of Development  
Website: http://dss.ucsd.edu/%7esknoesen/

John Kuk

Kukjskuk@ucsd.edu
SSB 328
Field of study: Comparative politics

Jason (Ming-Chieh) Kuo

no_image
mikuo@ucsd.edu
SSB 351
Fields of study: International Relations, Comparative Politics

Nazita Lajevardi

Lajevardi
nlajevar@ucsd.edu
SSB 341
Field of study: American politics

Don (Dong Seong) Lee

no_image
donlee@ucsd.edu
SSB 346
Fields of study: American Politics, Comparative Politics

Jonghyuk Lee

Lee
jol122@ucsd.edu
SSB 324

Fields of study: International Relations, Comparative Politics

Lauren Lee

llee@ucsd.edu
SSB 346
Fields of Study: International Relations, Methodology

John LeJeune

no_image
jlejeune@ucsd.edu
SSB 328
Fields of study: Political Theory, Comparative Politics

Justin Levitt

no_image
jlevitt@ucsd.edu
SSB 447
Fields of study: American Politics, Political Theory

David Lindsey

Lindsey
dlindsey@ucsd.edu
SSB 350
Fields of study: International Relations, Theory

Adeline Lo

Lo
aylo@ucsd.edu
SSB 351
Fields of study: Comparative Politics, Methodology

Lydia Lundgren

no_image
llundgre@ucsd.edu
SSB 448
Fields of study: Comparative Politics, American Politics

Daniel Maliniak

Maliniak
dmaliniak@ucsd.edu
SSB 351
Fields of study: International Relations, Comparative Politics
Focus area: International Political Economy

Jonathan Markowitz

jnmark@ucsd.edu
Currently on fellowship at Belfer

Fields of study: International Relations, Comparative Politics

Kelly Matush

Matush

kmatush@ucsd.edu
SSB 343
Field of study: International Relations

Blake (Russell) McMahon

McMahon
rmcmahon@ucsd.edu
SSB 347
Fields of study: International Relations, Comparative Politics

Rupal Mehta

Mehta

Fields of study: International Relations, Comparative Politics
Focus area: International Security, Nuclear Weapons Proliferation

Brandon Merrell

bmerrell@ucsd.edu
SSB 341
Fields of Study: International Relations, Methodology

Sean Morgan

Morgan

stmorgan@ucsd.edu
SSB 350
Field of study: International Relations

Matthew Nanes

Nanes

mnanes@ucsd.edu
SSB 348
Field of study: Comparative Politics

Michael Nicholson

Nicholson
mdnicholson@ucsd.edu
SSB 343
Fields of study: International Relations, Comparative Politics

Lindsay Nielson

Nielson
lnielson@ucsd.edu
SSB 443
Fields of study: American Politics, Comparative Politics
Focus area: American - Elections, political behavior, voter mobilization

Nicholas Obradovich

Obradovich
nobradovich@ucsd.edu
SSB 331
Fields of study: Comparative Politics, Methodology
Website: http://polisci2.ucsd.edu/nobradovich/

Christopher O'Keefe

no_image
cokeefe@ucsd.edu
In Absentia
Fields of study: International Relations, Comparative Politics
Focus area: International organizations, foreign aid, Middle East
Website:  http://dss.ucsd.edu/%7ecokeefe/

Stan Oklobdzija

soklobdz@ucsd.edu
SSB 322
Fields of Study: American Politics, Comparative Politics

Steven Oliver

no_image
s1oliver@ucsd.edu
SSB 447
Fields of study: International Relations, Comparative Politics

Maya Oren

Oren
moren@ucsd.edu
SSB 345
Fields of study: International Relations, Comparative Politics

Kai Ostwald

no_image
www.kaiostwald.me
SSB 326
Fields of study: Comparative Politics
Focus area: Ethnic Politics, Politics of Development

Kristy Pathakis

kpathatki@ucsd.edu
Fields of Study: International Relations, Comparative Politics

John Porten

jporten@ucsd.edu
SSB 320
Field of Study: Comparative Politics

Aditya Ranganath

Ranganath
aranganath@ucsd.edu
SSB 328
Fields of study: Inernational Relations, American Politics

Justin Reeves

Reeves

SSB 445
Fields of study: Comparative Politics, American Politics
Focus area: Comparative Government Institutions (Japan)

Dennis Rhee

Rhee


idrhee@ucsd.edu
SSB 322
Field of study: Comparative Politics

Michael Rivera

Rivera
murivera@ucsd.edu
SSB 347
Fields of study: American Politics, Comparative Politics
Focus area: American Political Behavior, Race/Ethnic Politics
Website: http://polisci2.ucsd.edu/murivera

Skyler Roth

seroth@ucsd.edu
SSB 352
Field of Study: American Politics

Alexander Ruiz Euler

Ruiz Euler
SSB 447
Fields of study: Comparative Politics, Political Theory
Focus area: Latin America

Paul Schuler

Schuler
website
SSB 326
Fields of study: Comparative Politics, International Relations
Focus area: Southeast Asia, Authoritarianism, Institutions

Caleb Scoville

Scoville


crscovil@ucsd.edu
SSB 349
Field of study: Political Theory

David Searle

Searle
dsearle@ucsd.edu
SSB 330
Fields of study: American Politics

Cameron Sells

csells@ucsd.edu
SSB 352
Fields of Study: Comparative Politics

Jim Shen

Shen
jshen@ucsd.edu
On Leave of Absence
Fields of study: International Relations, Methodology

Weiyi Shi

no_image

SSB 448
Fields of study: International Relations, Comparative Politics

Yunkyu Sohn

no_image
ysohn@ucsd.edu
In-Abstentia
Fields of study: American Politics, International Relations
Focus area: Formal Theory, Quantitative Methods, Biopolitics
Website: http://dss.ucsd.edu/%7eysohn

Deborah Seligsohn

Selignsohn
dseligso@ucsd.edu
SSB 330
Field of study: International Relations

Ike Sharpless

Sharpless

isharple@ucsd.edu
SSB 324
Field of study: Political Theory

Liesel Spangler

lspangle@ucsd.edu
SSB 346
Field of Study: Comparative Politics

Zachary Steinert-Threlkeld

Steinert
zsteiner@ucsd.edu
SSB 332
Fields of study: International Relations,

Clara Suong

Suong

csuong@ucsd.edu
SSB 352
Field of study: International Relations

Devesh Tiwari

no_image
dtiwari@ucsd.edu
SSB 445
Fields of study: Comparative Politics,

Brian Tsay

Tsay

brtsay@ucsd.edu
SSB 350
Field of study: Comparative Politics

Adam Tyner

Tyner
atyner@ucsd.edu
SSB 348
Fields of study: Comparative Politics, Political Theory

Mona Vakilifathi

Vakilifathi
mvakilif@ucsd.edu
SSB 322
Fields of study: American Politics, Comparative Politics

Abigail Vaughn

alvaughn@ucsd.edu
SSB 330
Fields of Study: International Relations, Methodology

Alex Verink

Verink
averink@ucsd.edu
SSB 332
Fields of study: Comparative Politics, Methodology

Walker Vincoli

wvincoli@ucsd.edu
SSB 346
Fields of Study: International Relations, Methodology

Neil Visalvanich

no_image
nvisalvanich@ucsd.edu
SSB 443
Fields of study: American Politics, Comparative Politics

Matthew Walsh

Walsh

mpwalsh@ucsd.edu
SSB 330
Field of study: International Relations

Alan Ward

no_image
award@ucsd.edu
SSB 348
Fields of study: Political Theory, Comparative Politics

Jason Wu

Wu
jasonwu@ucsd.edu
SSB 343
Field of study: Comparative Politics

Yin Yuan

yiy055@ucsd.edu
SSB 351
Fields of Study: Comparative politics, Political Theory

Paul Zachary

pzachary@ucsd.edu
SSB 324
Field of Study: International Relations

Atanas Zahariev

azaharie@ucsd.edu
SSB 320
Field of Study: International Relations

Jack Zhang

Zhang

jjz007@ucsd.edu

SSB 329
Field of study: International Relations

Brigitte Zimmerman

no_image
SSB 345
Fields of study: Comparative Politics, International Relations
Ice Cream Social

Our Ph.D. program in Political Science is designed to break down barriers and build bridges across the subfields and give all of our students a broad command of the discipline as a whole, regardless of their area of specialization.


Contact Us

Director of Graduate Studies
Karen E. Ferree
(858) 822-2309
SSB 391

Student Affairs Manager
Regina Ready
(858) 534-7381
SSB 302

Graduate Coordinator
Arturo Vazquez
(858) 534-2705
SSB 305 (301)

Student Affairs Assistant
Christina Butler
(858) 534-7370
SSB 301