UC San Diego SearchMenu

Current Political Science Ph.D. Students

Current TA Office Hours 

Please click HERE for the current TA Office Hours and the list of the graduate students who are working as TAs in the department this quarter.

If your TA's office hours are not listed or if you would like to meet with a graduate student who is not a TA, contact the graduate student directly via email for hours or to set up an appointment.

Konstantin Ash

Ash
kash@ucsd.edu
SSB 324
Fields of study: Comparative Politics, International Relations
Website: http://polisci2.ucsd.edu/kash/

Matthew Bergman

Bergman
mebergman@ucsd.edu
SSB 331
Fields of study: Comparative Politics, International Relations
Focus area: Comparative Institutions

Kate Blackwell

Blackwell
kblackwe@ucsd.edu
SSB 345
Fields of study: Comparative Politics, American Politics

Derek Bonett

dbonett@ucsd.edu
SSB 320
Fields of study: American Politics, International Relations

Nicole Bonoff

Bonoff
nbonoff@ucsd.edu
In Absentia
Fields of study: Comparative Politics, American Politics
Focus area: Comparative Political Economy of Development, Africa

Garrett Bredell

Bredell
gbredell@ucsd.edu
SSB 446
Fields of study: Comparative Politics, International Relations

Benjamin Brewer

bhbrewer@ucsd.edu 
SSB348
Field of study: International Relations

Shannon Carcelli

Carcelli
scarcell@ucsd.edu
SSB329

Fields of study: International Relations

Rumman Chowdhury

no_image
ruchowdhury@ucsd.edu
On Leave 
Fields of study: American Politics, Comparative Politics

Julia Clark

jmc003@ucsd.edu
SSB 326
Fields of Study: Comparative Polics, International Relations

Nathan Combes

Combes
ncombes@ucsd.edu
SSB 332
Fields of study: Comparative Politics, International Relations

Aaron Cotkin

Cotkin

acotkin@ucsd.edu 
SSB 447
Field of study: Political Theory 

Michael Davidson

Davidson 
   
 
  
    mwdavids@ucsd.edu
    SSB 347
    Field of study: Comparative Politics

Elaine Denny

Denny
ekdenny@ucsd.edu
SSB 331
Fields of study: Political Theory, International Relations

Lee Dionne

ldionne@ucsd.edu

SSB 320
Fields of Study: American Politics, Political Theory

Kathryn Dove

no_image
kdove@ucsd.edu
SSB 448
Fields of study: Comparative Politics, American Politics
Focus area: Latin America

Maya Duru

Oren

mduru@ucsd.edu
SSB 345
Fields of study: International Relations, Comparative Politics

Taylor Feenstra

tfeenstr@ucsd.edu
SSB341
Field of study: American politics 

Micah Gell-Redman

mgellredman@ucsd.edu
SSB 443
Fields of study: Comparative Politics, American Politics

John Gotti

jgotti@ucsd.edu
SSB 349
Field of study: Political Theory 

Scott Guenther

Guenther
sguenther@ucsd.edu
SSB 331
Fields of study: Comparative Politics, American Politics

Dotan Haim

Dotan
dhaim@ucsd.edu
SSB 350
Field of study: International Relations

Kyle Haines

no_image
kyhaines@ucsd.edu
SSB 349
Fields of study: Political Theory, Comparative Politics

Heidi Hall

h1hall@ucsd.edu
SSB 343
Fields of Study: International Relations, American Politics

William Hobbs

Hobbs
whobbs@ucsd.edu
SSB 345
Fields of study: American Politics, Methodology

Jeremy D. Horowitz

D. Horowitz
jdhorowitz@ucsd.edu
In-Absentia
Fields of study: American Politics, Comparative Politics
Focus area: Judicial Politics

Alex (Douglas) Hughes

no_image
         dhughes@ucsd.edu
         SSB 446
         Fields of study: American Politics, Methodology
         Website: http://polisci2.ucsd.edu/dhughes

Paula Jacobson

pjacobson@ucsd.edu
Seqouyah Hall 103
Fields of study: Comparative Politics, American Politics

Andrew Janusz

Janusz
ajanusz@ucsd.edu
SSB 332
Field of study: Comparative politics

Hye Ryoung Jung

hrj001@ucsd.edu
SSB 329

Kaleb Kalinowski

kkalinow@ucsd.edu
SSB 352
Fields of Study: American Politics, Comparative Politics

Jeffrey Kaplow

no_image
In Absentia

Fields of study: International Relations, Methodology
Focus Area: International Organizations, Nuclear Weapons, International and Civil Conflict

Matthew Kearney

mckearney@ucsd.edu
Fields of study: Comparative Politics, International Relations

Sara Kerosky

smkerosk@ucsd.edu
SSB 322
Fields of Study: Comparative Politics, American Politics

John Kuk

Kukjskuk@ucsd.edu
SSB 328
Field of study: Comparative politics

Jason (Ming-Chieh) Kuo

no_image
mikuo@ucsd.edu
SSB 445
Fields of study: International Relations, Comparative Politics

Nazita Lajevardi

Lajevardi
nlajevar@ucsd.edu
SSB 341
Field of study: American politics

Don (Dong Seong) Lee

donlee@ucsd.edu
SSB 446
Fields of study: American Politics, Comparative Politics

Lauren Lee

llee@ucsd.edu
SSB 346
Fields of Study: International Relations, Methodology

Jonghyuk Lee

Lee
jol122@ucsd.edu
SSB 324

Fields of study: International Relations, Comparative Politics

Justin Levitt

jlevitt@ucsd.edu
SSB 447
Fields of study: American Politics, Political Theory

David Lindsey

Lindsey
dlindsey@ucsd.edu
SSB 350
Fields of study: International Relations, Theory

Huchen Liu

hul045@ucsd.edu
SSB 328
Field of study: American Politics 

Adeline Lo

Lo
aylo@ucsd.edu
SSB 351
Fields of study: Comparative Politics, Methodology

Kelly Matush

Matush

kmatush@ucsd.edu
SSB 343
Field of study: International Relations

Charles McClean

cmclean@ucsd.edu
SSB 346
Field of study: Comparative Politics 

Blake (Russell) McMahon

McMahon

rmcmahon@ucsd.edu
SSB 347
Fields of study: International Relations, Comparative Politics

Brandon Merrell

bmerrell@ucsd.edu
SSB 341
Fields of Study: International Relations, Methodology

Sean Morgan

Morgan

stmorgan@ucsd.edu
SSB 350
Field of study: International Relations

Matthew Nanes

Nanes

mnanes@ucsd.edu
SSB 348
Field of study: Comparative Politics

Michael Nicholson

Nicholson
mdnicholson@ucsd.edu
SSB 343
Fields of study: International Relations, Comparative Politics

Nicholas Obradovich

Obradovich
nobradovich@ucsd.edu
SSB 331
Fields of study: Comparative Politics, Methodology
Website: http://polisci2.ucsd.edu/nobradovich/

Stan Oklobdzija

soklobdz@ucsd.edu
SSB 322
Fields of Study: American Politics, Comparative Politics

Kristy Pathakis

kpathakis@ucsd.edu
Fields of Study: International Relations, Comparative Politics

John Porten

jporten@ucsd.edu
SSB 326
Field of Study: Comparative Politics

Aditya Ranganath

Ranganath
aranganath@ucsd.edu
SSB 328
Fields of study: Inernational Relations, American Politics

Justin Reeves

Reeves
SSB 445
Fields of study: Comparative Politics, American Politics
Focus area: Comparative Government Institutions (Japan)

Dennis Rhee

Rhee


idrhee@ucsd.edu
SSB 322
Field of study: Comparative Politics

Skyler Roth

seroth@ucsd.edu
SSB 352
Field of Study: American Politics

David Searle

Searle
dsearle@ucsd.edu
SSB 330
Fields of study: American Politics

Michael Seese

mseese@ucsd.edu
SSB 351
Field of study: International Relations

Deborah Seligsohn

Seligsohn

dseligso@ucsd.edu
SSB 330
Field of study: International Relations

Cameron Sells

csells@ucsd.edu
SSB 352
Fields of Study: Comparative Politics

Ike Sharpless

isharple@ucsd.edu
SSB 330
Field of study: Political Theory

Yunkyu Sohn

no_image
ysohn@ucsd.edu
In-Abstentia
Fields of study: American Politics, International Relations
Focus area: Formal Theory, Quantitative Methods, Biopolitics
Website: http://dss.ucsd.edu/%7eysohn

Liesel Spangler

lspangle@ucsd.edu
SSB 326
Fields of study: Comparative Politics 

Zachary Steinert-Threlkeld

Steinert
zsteiner@ucsd.edu
SSB 332
Fields of study: International Relations,

Clara Suong

Suong

csuong@ucsd.edu
SSB 351
Field of study: International Relations

Duy Duc Trinh

ddtrinh@ucsd.edu
SSB 348
Fields of study: International Relations

Brian Tsay

Tsay

brtsay@ucsd.edu
SSB 350
Field of study: Comparative Politics

Mona Vakilifathi

Vakilifathi
mvakilif@ucsd.edu
SSB 448
Fields of study: American Politics, Comparative Politics

Abigail Vaughn

alvaughn@ucsd.edu
SSB 330
Fields of Study: International Relations, Methodology

Alex Verink

Verink
averink@ucsd.edu
SSB 332
Fields of study: Comparative Politics, Methodology

Walker Vincoli

wvincoli@ucsd.edu
SSB 346
Fields of Study: International Relations, Methodology

Alan Ward

Ward
award@ucsd.edu
SSB 443
Fields of Study: Political Theory, Comparative Politics

Louis Weimer

lweimer@ucsd.edu
SSB 322
Field of study: Comparative Politics 

Jason Wu

Wu
jasonwu@ucsd.edu
SSB 343
Field of study: Comparative Politics

Yin Yuan

yiy055@ucsd.edu
SSB 351
Fields of Study: Comparative politics, Methodology

Paul Zachary

pzachary@ucsd.edu 
SSB 324
Field of study: International Relations

Atanas Zahariev

azaharie@ucsd.edu
SSB 320
Field of Study: International Relations

Jack Zhang

zhang

jjz007@ucsd.edu
SSB 329
Field of study: International Relations

Brigitte Zimmerman

bazimmerman@ucsd.edu
Field of study: Comparative Politics 
Ice Cream Social

Our Ph.D. program in Political Science is designed to break down barriers and build bridges across the subfields and give all of our students a broad command of the discipline as a whole, regardless of their area of specialization.


Contact Us

Director of Graduate Studies
Karen E. Ferree
(858) 822-2309
SSB 391

Student Affairs Manager
Regina Ready
(858) 534-7381
SSB 302

Graduate Coordinator
Arturo Vazquez
(858) 534-2705
SSB 305 (301)

Student Affairs Assistant
Christina Butler
(858) 534-7370
SSB 301