Skip to main content

Administrative Staff

The professional staff of the Department of Political Science are dedicated to upholding the University's mission, teaching objectives, research ventures, and outreach initiatives by providing consistent and exemplary support for our faculty, students, campus partners, and community stakeholders. We utilize all available resources to continually improve how we welcome, advise, and assist those who engage with the Department. We believe in a progressive work environment in which all are valued and treated with respect.

                         Please Note: Most Political Science Administrative staff are working a hybrid schedule.

Organizational Chart



Chief Administrative Officer

Student Affairs

  • Ethel Regis Lu

    Ethel Regis Lu

    Student Affairs Manager
    Room: SSB 305 

    Work Hours: M-F 8:00am-4:30pm (on campus Wednesdays/Thursdays)

  • Zain Sharifi

    Zain Sharifi

    Undergraduate Student Affairs Advisor
    Room: SSB 309

    Note: Students must send their questions via the Virtual Advising Center

    Work Hours: Monday-Friday 8:00am-4:30pm (on Mondays/Tuesdays)

  • Katie Smith

    Katie Smith

    Graduate Program Coordinator 

    Room: SSB 302

    Work Hours: Monday-Friday 8:00am-4:30pm (on campus Mondays/Thursdays)

  • Zaray Aguilar

    Zaray Aguilar

    Student Administrative Assistant

    Room: SSB 301

  • Jessica Baeza

    Jessica Baeza

    Student Administrative Assistant

    Room: SSB 301

Financial Management

Human Resources & Academic Personnel

  • Collette Isachsen

    Collette Isachsen

    Academic Personnel Analyst

    Phone: (858) 534-3015

    Work Hours: Monday-Friday 12:00-4:00p (fully remote schedule)

  • profile placeholder image

    Derrick Chin

    Events/Academic Personnel Coordinator


    Work Hours: M-F 8:00am-4:30pm (on campus Mondays/Tuesdays)

Information Technology