UC San Diego SearchMenu

Welcome to our Department

Founded in 1974, our department now is home to many of the world's leading scholars who represent a broad range of backgrounds, methodologies, and specialties. Our commitment to rigorous, interdisciplinary, and innovative scholarship provides the foundation for cutting-edge education and research that is changing the field of modern political science. As a consequence, the Department of Political Science at UCSD is recognized as one of the best in the country.

In The News

What does the newfound Republican Senate majority mean for consumers' wallets

Gary C. Jacobson Distinguished Professor of Political Science, University of California

Washington Monthly's 2014 national universities rankings

Washington Monthly's 2014 national universities rankings places UCSD as number 1 for the fifth consecutive year. Rankings based on contribution to the public good in three broad categories: Social Mobility, Research, and Civic Engagement.

UCSD named one of the best colleges for Political Science

Affordable Colleges Online ranks programs based on the quality of education, academic atmosphere, student life, job placement, and student earning potential. On these measures, UCSD Political Science ranks #3 in the nation and earned particular notice for our "hands-on, fully engaged learning experience" and success in attracting the most competitive students.

Campus Climate

As part of the university's ongoing efforts to promote intellectual and community diversity among its student body, faculty and staff, steps are being taken to advance a positive and dynamic campus climate at UC San Diego and throughout the UC system. To learn more, please visit Campus Climate Update.

Support Political Science

Give now

Undergraduate Advising

Current students use the Virtual Advising Center.

Not enrolled? Email askpolisci@ucsd.edu.

Contact Us

Social Sciences Building 301
9500 Gilman Drive, #0521
La Jolla, CA 92093-0521

P: (858)534-3548
F: (858) 534-7130
Summer OH: M-Th, 8:30 a.m.-4:00 p.m/ F, 8:30 a.m.-2:30 p.m.