In July 2020, the Political Science Department at UC San Diego convened an "EDI Task Force" for the purpose of establishing clear guidelines for how the department can advance campus Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion goals. The EDI Task Force was chaired by Professor Claire Adida and composed of faculty, staff, graduate students, and undergraduate students—18 people in total. After initial meetings to define the Task Force's broad objectives, the Task Force separated into four working groups focused on Representation, Curriculum, Mentorship, and Culture. Each group developed specific recommendations based on evidence and deliberation. All recommendations focused on improving the experience of students, faculty, and staff from underrepresented and marginalized groups--current and future.

The resulting Best Practices on Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion document was approved by the faculty in 2022 and now guides the following department activities: Faculty Recruitment, Promotion, and Service, Staff Interactions, Workshops and Talks, Faculty Meetings, Undergraduate Students, and Graduate Students. Under the skillful leadership of Professor Adida and the enthusiastic engagement of its members (faculty members: Kirk Bansak, Simeon Nichter, Agustina Paglayan, David Wiens; staff members: Natalie Ikker, Kimberly Linsley, Ariane Parkes; graduate student members: Alison Boehmer, Christina Cottiero, Lucas de Abreu Maia, Leonard Falabella, Bianca Freeman; and undergraduate members: Katherine Durran, Natalie Lopez, Rosaline Meyer, Paloma Parra, Karen Thai), the Task Force identified and built consensus for best practices across all aspects of department life.